Thursday Thoughts: Getting too Emotionally Attached? Harry Potter Time

So, I just watched Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part Two for the first time since I saw it in theaters at midnight…over a year ago. If you know me, this is weird. I freaking love Harry Potter. And it got to the point where I couldn’t even watch the stinking movie because I couldn’t emotionally handle or fathom “the end” of Harry Potter. Which is just kind of stupid slash amazing. Stupid because it’s just a book-it’s just a collection of words arranged in a pattern on hundreds of pieces of paper. You know? It’s a book, it’s a movie and I should be able to deal with it ending. But that’s kind of why it’s amazing. That I can’t handle it ending? Because it is just a book, but it’s SO MUCH MORE THAN THAT AT THE SAME TIME. How cool is it that J.K. Rowling wrote a series of books that people feel so emotionally attached to that they can’t bear to think about it coming to an end? That Harry and Ron and Hermione become so much a part of someone’s life that they can’t handle their stories ending? I think that, while I am totally ridiculous, this ability to bond with a book and a writer’s ability to write such a book is awesome.

Sometimes I think all of this isn’t worth it. That I should just stop reading and watching movies because of all this, really, emotional turmoil. Because sometimes reading makes me more sad than it makes me happy and I just think that I don’t have to feel all of this. I could just stop reading and never have to get so emotionally attached and feel awful when I finish a book or a movie.

But then I think that, for all the sadness that the end of Harry Potter brought, it never outweighed the happiness that the series brought me as a whole. And I know that, regardless of everything, if I could go back to when I first cracked open Sorcerer’s Stone, I wouldn’t change a thing. Because standing next to Harry and saying goodbye to him at the end sucked. But it was worth it.

How cool that I got all this from a book? All this love, and friendship, and sadness and joy? I think that’s the coolest thing ever. Thanks, J.K. Rowling. You definitely changed my life.

4 thoughts on “Thursday Thoughts: Getting too Emotionally Attached? Harry Potter Time

  1. Jocelyn says:

    I do this ALL THE TIME, and with too many things. Toy Story 3? Bawled my eyes out. I’m that girl who re-reads series but sometimes can’t quite make it to the end of the last book because I’ve already had to say goodbye once, thankyouverymuch, and it was hard enough the first time. Harry Potter is a perfect example of this because it was over such a long time, with books and movies too: and more importantly because it was (is!) just so, so good.

  2. pitterpatter09 says:

    Omg. I know exactly what you mean. Harry Potter was an experience for me that went beyond just reading a book or watching a movie…I don’t even know how to explain it, really. I’ve found plenty of other books and authors that I love, but I still miss Harry Potter because it was such a big part of my childhood. I’ve just decided that I’m gonna make September Harry Potter Month on my blog, so feel free to come check it out if you want to.

Leave a Reply

