Thursday Thoughts: Self-identifying with a Character

 

I think that, to some extent, whenever you read a book, you identify yourself with the main character. You can find something about them that resonates with you and who you are. It might be a small thing, like the color of their eyes or the way they talk, but it’s almost always there. For me, that’s one of my favorite parts of reading. I just think it’s really cool.

So today, I finished this book called Reunited (review tomorrow!!!) and there’s this girl in it. Her name is Alice and she’s the main character. Aslo, SHE’S ME. I mean, I have NEVER read a book and met a character who is so much like me. I would like to think that Hermione and I are twins but I’m going to be honest-we’re not. Me and Alice- WE SO ARE.

We both have brown curly hair. We both only ever wear mascara. We are big on planning. We have great parents that we enjoy spending time with. We have high and somewhat impossible expectations for our lives and for the people in them. We’re always thinking about what could go wrong. We both wear our hearts on our sleeves.

And maybe these are common things, but when you find a character who just reminds you of yourself completely, it’s exciting!

Have you ever read a book with a character that you totally self-identify with?

Also, apologies for the shabby writing, I had to rush this week!

2 thoughts on “Thursday Thoughts: Self-identifying with a Character

  1. Briana says:

    I was really into “The Cardturner” by Louis Sachar–but mainly because I have friends who play bridge. So I was completely relating to the protagonist’s confusion when he heard words like “trump” and “slam” being thrown around, and his amazement to find out there is MORE THAN ONE bridge magazine. Ha ha. I don’t know that i related to him on a very personal level, though.

    • Refuting the Intolerably Stupid says:

      I’ve never read that, but it’s on my list! Really, it’s just fun to identify with a character on any level.

Leave a Reply

