Thursday Thoughts: Elizabeth Bennet

THIS IS SO LATE. I WAS OUT OF TOWN AND APPARENTLY IT’S DIFFICULT TO BLOG WHILST TRAVELING.

So I’m sorry about that. I didn’t foresee such a delay. But here we go. My first literary role model is, of course Elizabeth Bennet. I like her because she stands out. She’s kind of a feminist. I like that she is so devoted to her family, but will still speak up when she thinks they’re wrong. I like that she doesn’t need anyone to protect her or stand up for her, she can take care of herself. But what I really like about Elizabeth Bennet is that she’s wrong about some things and certain, er, males. And, though she may not like it, she always admits it when she’s wrong about something and apologizes for it. Her ability to be wrong and be corrected gracefully is what leads her to a better life filled withlove and opportunity. She comes off her high horse and lets go of some of her pride and, as a result, she gets the life she wants and deserves.

She offers a lesson in humility for all of us. And I thank her for that.

 

Leave a Reply

