Thursday Thoughts: Sarah Dessen

One of these days, I will post this on a real Thursday. I’m a college student. I don’t do anything on time.

So, when I decided to write about my literary role models, I was only thinking of characters. But, this week, I read (more like re-read for the 12th time) Just Listen by Sarah Dessen and I realized that she is really a role model of mine. I’ve loved her books since I was 13 and I still love them today. My favorites are Just ListenThe Truth about Forever and This Lullaby. What’s so great about her, is that she writes these great stories about girls finding themselves or falling in love or facing reality, among others. These are all classic Young Adult story lines, and when done poorly, they can be really cliche or routine. Some people may write her off as childish, and to them I say 1) what the heck is wrong with that and 2) shut up and read her books, then you can tell me what you think. Because  Sarah Dessen writes these stories in such a beautiful, refreshing and real way. They are stories that girls like me need to read when growing up. I’m still growing up; I still need her stories. I don’t think I realized what her books did for me or taught me when I was in high school. But I realize their impact now. I don’t settle, I don’t sell myself short, and I have big dreams about who I want to be, what I want to do, where I want to go, and who I want to do all these things with.

I’m not saying I owe all of this to Sarah Dessen or her novels, but I sure do owe her for inspiring me to want these things and for learning that everyone deserves to want these things.

Maybe this is a lot to attribute to an author or books. But hey, I like books.

2 thoughts on “Thursday Thoughts: Sarah Dessen

  1. Jocelyn says:

    I agree about Sarah Dessen, I recommend her all the time to teens at work – she has a lovely touch with characterisation, and I think she represents teenage girls really authentically – something a lot of authors fail to do. It’s refreshing to read about teens as they actually are rather than as a middle aged author thinks they should be. (John Green’s another author who does this exceptionally!)

Leave a Reply

