Thursday Thoughts: A Week without Reading

Dramatic title, I know. But this week has been stupidly hectic, as proven by the fact that this is my second Thursday Thoughts in a row that is going up on Sunday.

To give you a summary, this was my first week of classes in London, my second week in any place other than America, and the week that I didn’t read anything. At all. Also, I just got back from a supremely insane two days in Wales (who knew Wales could be insane?).

Thursday Thoughts

All day, I’ve been feeling gross and distracted and just not like myself and I kept asking myself why. It’s not fair to be in a bad mood when you are in the UK! I don’t get to be in a bad mood. I have too many amazing things going on right now to be in a bad mood. But I was, and I figured out it’s because I haven’t read a single freaking book in a whole freaking week. I’ve been all up in my own head and that IS NOT HEALTHY.

I think reading keeps me grounded, helps me to not be so selfish, and gives me perspective. So take it out of the picture, and you’re left with a cranky, anxious brat. I freely admit this.

Maybe I’ve grown too dependent on books, but I think if I tried to weaken my dependency I would slowly become the world’s worst person. So I’m stuck with them and they’re stuck with me.

One thought on “Thursday Thoughts: A Week without Reading

  1. K says:

    I enjoy reading, too, and writing (especially) to keep me out of “my own head” as you call it. During NaNoWriMo, I felt more emotionally healthy–I think because of the creativity and the story I was writing! Happy reading…and have fun in the UK!!!

Leave a Reply

