January Favorites

Quite obviously, number one is….

1. London! Today marks the first whole month of my semester in London. This day, one month ago, I was a sweaty, tired, scared mess. Now, I’m still a mess, but one with a much better sense of direction. London is my haven. I love it. I love waking up and knowing that I’m here. I love walking down the street and seeing buildings that are older than my favorite books and I love the history. Also, I love the cider. London is a place where things happen. I’ve only been here a short while, but this is a place that I will always keep in my heart. I went to Ireland last weekend, and while it was absolutely beautiful, I still felt a buzz of anticipation as I boarded my flight back to Heathrow. Gone for three days and I had missed it more than I ever would have expected.

2. Freaking chocolate. The chocolate here is insane. I eat it on the daily. It’s a problem and yet, I can’t stop won’t stop buying more more more.

3. Pink toilet paper. The TP in London is pink! Enough said.

4. Bitterblue by Kristin Cashore. The third installment in the Graceling series, this novel does not disappoint. I totally adored it. I grew so attached that I put off reading the last chapter for a good week. I wasn’t ready to let go. Cashore, if you are by some miracle reading this, please God please please write another Graceling novel please I’m begging you.

4. Mr. Darcy. I went to the Jane Austen House Museum (post here) and they had a whole section dedicated to Mr. Darcy. I am now the proud owner of an “I ❤ Darcy” keychain, featuring the lovely visage of one Mr. Colin Firth.

5. The UK university system. It is seriously awesome. I have twelve weeks of class, two of which are considered reading weeks, where classes are not in session so as to provide time for independent study. I have no finals, and only have to write a paper per class. Apparently, this is the norm amongst many UK universities. I’m okay with it.

6. Billy Elliot. This week, I went to my first big West End musical and it was Billy Elliot. This kid is 13 and has been the starring role on Broadway and now in the West End. So my blog is starting to feel quite insignificant. Time for chocolate.

Thanks for sticking with me through this rather off-kilter blogging month. It’s been a crazy four weeks. For more details about my happenings in London, check out my other blog Seeing London Seeing Life.

Check ya later, son.

Leave a Reply

