Scary Statistics

Today, Epic Reads posted this image on Facebook:

Source: Epic Reads

Source: Epic Reads

I was kind of blown away. Can you believe that so few people don’t read when they don’t have to? I always looked forward to summer and other school breaks because that meant I had the freedom to read whatever I wanted. It’s never fun to be forced to read something, even if you like it. Maybe that’s why people don’t read once they leave school. Being told what to read has ruined reading for them, or maybe they prefer, like, going out and doing things (idk, some people are weird like that).

I do like the idea that I could be an expert just by reading, though I’d probably end up being an expert on rainbow fish or something extremely unimportant.

Thought you’d like this little snippet! There’s a review coming your way. May be a while, as the book and I aren’t getting along very well (it is not good thus far).

Stay fly yo

 

8 thoughts on “Scary Statistics

  1. Hannah says:

    On one level, I, too find the statistics surprising. The stats are unbelievable when I consider MY friends, MY family, My social circles. I am pretty sure that is what all of us (who are commenting that we are surprised) are doing. Then, I step outside my reality and go to work, where all of MY realities are so unbelievable for my students. Consider the following: of the over 900 students at the high school where I work, only 1 in 9 read books during summer vacation; in our school library and in the public library across the street from our school, most students use the facilities for FB, Instigram, and video games, not to read print or e-books; in some cultures, reading is “not cool”; it is not cool to follow the school library’s Twitter; most of my high school students share with me that they have not read a book since the fifth or sixth grades; only 40% of the 290 schools in my district have certified school librarians; of the nine elementary and middle feeder schools for our high school, only one of those schools has a school librarian, so the majority of our students see their first librarian when they arrive in high school. When I am in my own little world, these facts are hard to believe. I shall not give up on my students. I continue to show up each day; for we are making progress. This past year, three of our students placed in our district’s book club/reading competition and two of our students earned first and second place in the district spelling and vocabulary competition! Our school had the highest percent increase of students who read at least five books over summer vacation. Two years ago, our student book club placed first in the create a book trailer competition.

    Also, there are cultures of adults who do not read for pleasure. Have you ever noticed most of the litigants on the TV court shows ; characters on reality television; etc…?

    • Refuting the Intolerably Stupid says:

      Thanks so much for your thoughtful response. You’re right β€” when I first saw these numbers, I was thinking about myself and my personal environment, which is, unfortunately, unusual in regards to reading.

      I like how you say we’re not giving up. I like to believe that with teachers like you or like the ones I’ve had, change is possible. And books like TFIOS, Hunger Games and Divergent are making reading a hobby again.

      It’s pretty upsetting to think about the culture of adults as you say that doesn’t read. Books are one of the easiest, most fool-proof ways to make a deeper connection to people, and you’d think most people are desirous of making meaningful connections. It’s definitely interesting to think about.

Leave a Reply

