John Green ranted about Marxism on twitter! NOT A JOKE!

So during the Super Bowl, our author John Green went on a Marxist rant via his sports twitter account (@sportswithjohn). Here’s what he tweeted:

Screen Shot 2014-02-05 at 10.40.02 AM Screen Shot 2014-02-05 at 10.40.12 AM Screen Shot 2014-02-05 at 10.40.26 AM Screen Shot 2014-02-05 at 10.40.59 AM Screen Shot 2014-02-05 at 10.41.10 AM Screen Shot 2014-02-05 at 10.41.18 AM Screen Shot 2014-02-05 at 10.41.30 AM Screen Shot 2014-02-05 at 10.41.41 AM Screen Shot 2014-02-05 at 10.41.51 AMScreen Shot 2014-02-05 at 10.42.02 AMScreen Shot 2014-02-05 at 10.42.14 AM

Okay, then. Nerdfighters and subscribers to his Vlogbrothers channel know that John Green is no conservative republican. He’s very clear about his political ideals, but he’s always fair and informed in his YouTube arguments (although we always know what side he is on).

But I have to say, when I saw these tweets, I was surprised. I love a good argument and debate—don’t get me wrong—but I don’t love his approach. I think his “Marxist rant” (as he puts it) is presumptuous and inconsiderate to a lot of people. He makes a lot of good points, like how the rich have more control over aspects of their lives than those less fortunate, but to make an argument like this, regardless of the forum on which you make it, you must have substantial evidence for your claims. It doesn’t matter that it’s an offhand, out of the blue argument. When you’re discussing a controversial topic like this, you will make people mad, why not back yourself up a bit with sources and facts?

I don’t really know anything about the rich or taxes or Marxism (at least not enough to form an educated opinion) so I’m not writing this to bash his beliefs or to scream about how great or horrible Marxism and taxes are. I’m writing this because I think it’s pretty odd, especially considering who he is and the people who are his fans.

I think you’re walking on a tight rope when you take to social media to rant about your political beliefs, regardless of who you are. But when you’re a celebrity author, to whom many, many teens flock for entertainment, emotional support, or simply friendship, you need to check yourself a bit. Be more weary than you need to be about your situation and your surroundings. I’m not saying to alter your opinions or change in any way, but I do think you should use discretion.

I’m not trying to make a big deal about this. I DO NOT want to make a mountain out of an anthill or whatever the heck that expression is. I still and always will love John Green and his books. And I’m very interested in what he has to say about our society and political culture, but I wish he had taken a different route, like a YouTube video with facts and figures to back him up. That, I’d be really interested in.

But I mean, he did tell us that he was drunk and he was obviously upset by the way the game was going (just take a look at his twitter icon), so I’m not sure we can really blame him!

 

2 thoughts on “John Green ranted about Marxism on twitter! NOT A JOKE!

Leave a Reply

