What I read during winter break!

Hello there! I’m officially back in Athens, Ohio after winter break for my last semester of college and I’m preventing myself from straight wiggin’ by doing lots of reading. I’m currently in the middle of a pretty rad book (about which I’ll write a separate post later) and it occurred to me that I never wrote about my winter break books! So here we go.

Picture Me Gone by Meg Rosoff

13639446

Picture Me Gone is my first Rosoff, and it was just as heady as I expected it to be. Rosoff has this lyrical, melodic way of writing that, according to Goodreads reviewers, many people don’t like. I think some peopl just feel that she’s trying to do something with her books that’s just not working. But that rhythm of words is what I loved about Picture Me Gone. Rosoff depicts a new and unusual family dynamic and the conflict one has when caught between lies and family, tinged with just the right amount of romance. This is quick read that left me thinking about it and dazed by it for days. I definitely recommend it.

The Yonahlossee Camp for Girls by Anton DiSclafani

16158508

DiSclafani’s book was a big genre jump for me, but I’ve had it on my to-read list for years and I finally got around to reading it. When she published it in 2013, the reviewers loved it, pretty much everywhere, so I had very high expectations. And although the narrative was so strange, it was incredibly compelling. It’s nonlinear, and DiSclafani’s writing is beautiful and mysterious. She’s a creative writing professor at Washington University and I would die to take a class from her. This book is not for the faint of heart, but if you want a lush and provocative novel set in interwar America, this is for you.

I also read A Little Something Different, but I reviewed that here!

Definitely thought I read more, alas. I did, however, meet my Goodreads Challenge of reading 50 books last year, so huzzah! This year, I’m aiming for 65. We’ll see!

2 thoughts on “What I read during winter break!

Leave a Reply

