REVIEW: Seeker by Arwen Elys Dayton

From Goodreads:

Quin Kincaid has been put through years of brutal training for what she thinks is the noble purpose of becoming a revered ‘Seeker’.

Only when it’s too late does she discover she will be using her new-found knowledge and training to become an assassin. Quin’s new role will take her around the globe, from a remote estate in Scotland to a bustling, futuristic Hong Kong where the past she thought she had escaped will finally catch up with her.

I swiped Seeker  from NetGalley about a month ago. It sounded like it was right up my alley, a little mix20911450 of low fantasy with high fantasy, a sprinkle of a love triangle, and some intense traveling.

But like I said, I picked it up a month ago, and I am just now finishing it. I am a fast reader, but I could motivate myself to keep reading Seeker. I was not devoted to the characters or the story line. There was no intrinsic need for me to know what was going to happen next.

Quin, Shinobu and John are in training to become seekers, protectors of humanity. They spend their whole lived working toward this goal, and eventually, Quin and Shinobu achieve it. But it’s not what they expect. They’re forced by the haunting Briac (who also happens to be Quin’s father) to harm people. They learn they’re more akin to glorified assasins. So they escape, Quin forgets her past, and they start a new life. One without each other. Meanwhile, John is out for revenge. Briac wronged his family and he is trying to set things right, which puts his romantic relationship with Quin at risk.

It sounds like a cool plot, and it was for the most part. But there was a lack of connection between the reader and the characters that was hard for me to overlook. It was like a combination of them not revealing their feelings and as a consequence, me not fully understanding why they did what they did. So I just really didn’t care much about what happened.

That being said, this is the first book in the series, so there’s undoubtedly a lot of character development and revelation to come. I just wish there had been more from the start. Would I read the next one? Probably, but it doesn’t come out until spring 2016, so who knows what I’ll be reading then?

Leave a Reply

